Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions on motor vehicle insurance and
I am registering a vehicle
for the first time in Florida. Is automobile insurance mandatory?
Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are
registering it, you must have insurance.
What type of insurance is required
to purchase and maintain a Florida tag and registration?
Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection
(PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long
as you have a valid Florida tag, even if the vehicle is in
another state or inoperative. There are no exemptions in the
law. However, if you have been involved in a crash, or been
convicted of certain offenses, you may be required to purchase
bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).
What is "Personal Injury
Protection" insurance (PIP)?
PIP is coverage that will compensate a loss due to injury
regardless of who is charged with causing the crash. PIP applies
to bodily injury to you, relatives who live in your home and
passengers who are not required to have PIP, as well as licensed
drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP insurance
also protects you if you are injured as a pedestrian or bicyclist
as long as the injury is caused by an accident involving a
What is " Bodily Injury
Liability" insurance? (BIL)
Bodily Injury Liability coverage pays for serious and permanent
injury or death to others when you cause an accident involving
your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries
up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation
for you if you get sued. In particular, your company pays
for injuries caused by you or members of your family who live
with you, even if they were driving someone else's vehicle.
It may also cover others who drive your automobile with your
permission. This coverage also provides you with legal defense
in the event you are sued by the injured party.
What is "Property Damage
Liability" insurance? (PDL)
This coverage pays for damages you or members of your family
cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a
crash involving a motor vehicle.
What is meant by "Florida
Florida coverage is an insurance policy delivered or issued
for delivery in Florida by an insurance company licensed by
the Florida Department of Insurance.
Can I maintain my current policy
issued in my previous state of residence?
No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through
a Florida agent with an insurance company licensed to provide
in Florida. Most insurers have Florida agents and are licensed
to issue policies in Florida. Just ask your agent to transfer
your current insurance to Florida when you register a vehicle
What if I fail to keep insurance
on my vehicle that I’ve registered in Florida?
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized
to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle
tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof
of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.
If my driving privilege is
suspended because I am not properly insured, is there a penalty
to reinstate my license?
Yes. A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent
violations, must be paid and you must provide proof of current
I live outside Florida for
six months a year. When not in Florida, my vehicle is in storage
and not used. Must I maintain automobile insurance?
Yes. Any vehicle holding a valid Florida tag and registration
must be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the
entire registration period. When you leave Florida, you may
surrender your tag and registration at the nearest driver
license or tag office to avoid maintaining your policy. You
can always register your vehicle upon your return to Florida,
at which time you can provide proof of Florida insurance.
I am not a resident of Florida
but I have business that keeps me in Florida sometimes for
several months at a time. Must I comply with Florida's insurance
Yes. Any person who has a vehicle in Florida for more than
90 days during a 365-day period must purchase personal injury
protection and property damage liability insurance coverage.
The 90 days do not have to be consecutive.
I own multiple vehicles. Some
are not used for different reasons, but the county I live
in requires that the vehicles remain registered. Must I maintain
insurance coverage on these vehicles?
Yes. Insurance coverage must be maintained throughout the
entire vehicle registration period.
What can I do to avoid a driving
privilege suspension when I choose not to insure a vehicle?
To avoid a driving privilege suspension, surrender the vehicle's
tag and registration at any driver license or tag office,
prior to canceling your insurance policy.
If my driving privilege is
suspended for no insurance, will I be granted a temporary
driver license for working purposes?
No. There is no provision in Florida's motor vehicle insurance
laws for the issuance of any sort of temporary or restricted
driver license for financial responsibility suspensions.
I am self-employed as a taxi
driver and the only vehicle I own is used as a taxicab. Must
I carry automobile insurance?
No. Vehicles used as taxicabs and limousines are exempt from
the mandatory personal injury protection and property damage
liability insurance coverage. However, if you cause a crash,
and you do not have full coverage including bodily injury
liability at the time of the crash, you must purchase insurance
with full liability coverage and meet other requirements.